Green Onion Pancakes Recipe

Hello everyone! Today I made onion pancakes. I was craving some Asian food recently and I went to a restaurant near where I live. I had never tried the before, but I ordered onion pancakes after I saw my friend, who went with me, eat them. They were delicious. I loved them so much I could have eaten 16 pieces myself. Afterwards I wanted to go back to the restaurant but then I decided I could learn to make them myself, so I did so I asked my friend’s mom if she could teach me how to make them.

What you need:

  • 2 Cups of All Purpose Flour
  • Some extra flour to sprinkle on later
  • 1 Cup of Water
  • 6 Stalks of Green Onions
  • 3 Tbsp of Sesame Oil
  • One cutting/cooking board

Step 1: In a large bowl mix you flour and water with a fork. Go in small circular motions all around until it is mixed in well. Then start the knead it for 5 minutes.  Cover it with a damp towel and let the dough rest minutes.While you wait, you can start finely chopping the green onions.

Step 2:  After the time is over, take out the dough and cut it into 3 equal sections. Dust your board lightly with flour. Get one of the sections and  the dough using a lightly dusted rolling pin with flour. Make the dough into a ball and flatten a bit. Then roll it out into a circle that is about 2 1/2 hand widths wide.

 

20160301_120835
Own Photo

Step 3: Spread some of the sesame oil lightly all around. Then get 1/3 of the chopped green onions and spread them as well evenly through out the dough. Grab one edge of the dough and start rolling it into a log.Grab one side of the log and start rolling it in so it makes like a cinnamon bun shape.  Do the same to the two dough sections left.

20160301_120859
Own Photo
20160301_120930
Own Photo

Step 4: In a big round pan, put 1 tbsp of oil and put it on the stove on medium heat. Cook the pancake for 2-3 mins on each side until flaky and golden brown.  While cooking it, with two spatulas, fluff it up by squashing the edge with the spatula on the sides. This way pancakes is fluffy and layered  instead of flat.

Step 5: After it is cooked, get a knife and cut it into 6-8 pieces. You can eat the pancakes with soy sauce or another sauce you decide to make. Just enjoy them because they are so good!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

